A new type of rescue closet

In COOP you have to set up rescue closets throughout the level so in case a player dies they can respawn back into the game.

 

My issue was 2/3 of my first chapter are in a cavern/canyon area and I didn’t want a building in the middle of nowhere for a rescue closet.

 

So I came up with this. A crashed truck that serves as a rescue closet. I chose a model truck with the back door already open. I then added a rotating door prop and brushed around the door to close the gap and chose textures that blending the door and truck together. It works!

 Photobucket

Photobucket

 

Well…. It sort of works. My issue is if you touch the door with your body once it is open it disappears! I haven’t been able to fix this yet. Also you can see the lip of the default model door at the bottom. See below…

Photobucket

2 Responses to “A new type of rescue closet”

  1. I’ll have a job for you once we get funded…great work. This is exactly what we are teaching our students. You the man!

    • Very cool. How is it coming along?
      I was even talking to my wife about the lack of good games targeting children (5-10) they are usually point and click snooze fests assuming they even work. I think there is a market on non-violent sandbox type games that isn’t being tapped into at the moment, apart from Disney MMO’s.

Leave a comment